Hurry up and Wait!

We have all been there. Wait in traffic. Wait in line. Wait for the doctor. Wait for test results. Wait to see if you got the job. Wait. Wait. Wait. Sometimes the waiting can be aggravating. Road rage anyone? Sometimes, anxiety in the waiting can get the best of us. Is there a way to wait well? Is there a right way and a wrong way to wait?

Right now, my daughter is waiting to hear back after having a job interview. She is so antsy. Here is my advice to her (are you listening, Kaitlyn?). Put it at the feet of Jesus. Take a deep breath. Let peace fill your lungs. God has never let you down. If you get the job, praise God. If you don’t get the job, praise God. He has your back, girlfriend. He knows what is best for you.

Isaiah 41 10

 

I believe that every time we are given the opportunity to wait, we are being given an opportunity to trust God. We are definitely given an opportunity to practice patience. And there it is. That is how we wait well. That is the right way to wait. Trust God, and be patient. He gives us so many opportunities to grow in this area. We wait everyday, don’t we? But do you wait on Him? Be honest with yourself. If we are waiting on Him, then we are trusting that He will help us. If we are growing aggravated or anxious in the situation then we are not waiting on Him. During your waiting: pray, breath, praise God.

goes before me

I don’t share this because I wait well. I share this because I am learning how to wait well. When I do wait well it is such a great feeling. I pray that you will learn to wait well and grow in your faith. Trusting God is always a great blessing.

Join me this week. Let’s practice waiting on the Lord together.

~Momma Birdy


 

Psalm 62:1-2 “For God alone my soul waits in silence;
from him comes my salvation. He alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.” (ESV)

Isaiah 40:31 “but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.” (ESV)

Psalm 62:8 “Trust in him at all times, O people;
pour out your heart before him;
God is a refuge for us. Selah” (ESV)

Isaiah 12:2 “Behold, God is my salvation;
I will trust, and will not be afraid;
for the Lord God is my strength and my song,
and he has become my salvation.” (ESV)

Psalm 37:5 “Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him, and he will act.” (ESV)

Psalm 9:10 “And those who know your name put their trust in you,
for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you.” (ESV)

Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.” (ESV)

2 thoughts on “Hurry up and Wait!

Leave a Reply

