God’s Word

open your bibleI have always studied the Bible either in a class or by use of a study book. There have been times in my life when I just did word studies. Recently, in a study that I am doing (Open Your Bible by: Rachel Myers & Amanda Bible Williams),  I was encouraged to read through a book from beginning to end in one sitting (praying before and after). I did that this morning with the book of Ephesians. I also read up on the who, when, and where. I reread some of the passages again after a couple of hours. Already I am feeling the scriptures speaking to me in a mighty way. There is so much meat in Ephesians.

 

Eph 5 1-2

If you need direction and want to know God’s will for you read, read, and reread while praying for the Holy Spirit to teach you. God’s will for our lives is not hidden from us.

Ephesians 5:1-2 teaches us that we need to be imitators of God. How can we be imitators of God if we don’t take the time to get to know Him? The only way you can really know God is to study Him. We do that through studying His Word.

I have had so many days of great intentions to study His Word. But…there is always a but, isn’t there? That “but” usually means something that we made more important. I am so guilty. I just want to encourage you today to put God in your schedule. He put you in His.

 

 

Together, let us approach His Word daily and learn more about Him. Let us be imitators of Christ Jesus, our Lord.

Your Sister in Christ,

Momma Birdy

One thought on “God’s Word

  1. I am so guilty, too! I’m not sure that I think other things are more important, just that I want to get stuff out of the way so I can spend the time I want with God – things like walk the dog, feed him, give him his medicine, etc., etc. – at least that’s what I tell myself. Of course, it all amounts to the same thing, not carving out the necessary time I need with the Father. I’m working on it, and because I’m human, I suspect I always will. I’m getting better – I miss my time with my Father when it gets shuffled among the other things that often seem to run my life. So I will continue to work on it!❣

    Like

Leave a Reply

