Verse Application

 

The Bible keeps coming to mind as I ponder what to write about this week. Normally I am inspired by something I have read, by a dream, or by some life event. The Bible is such a huge topic. How do I narrow it down? I opened my Bible up to where I
have been studying;  a verse jumped out at me. This is definitely what I coffee & devoneed to share.
1 Peter 2:23 “When he was reviled, he did not revile in return; when he suffered, he did not threaten, but continued entrusting himself to him who judges justly.”(ESV)

This verse is about Jesus. In verse 21 we learn that Jesus set an example for us. We need to follow in his steps. This brought me to a place of repentance. Let me confess something to you. I do not sit by silently when reviled. I can snap easily. I would like to say that I am doing better. But, in truth, I just avoid situations or environments that I know might breed conflict in any way.

I pray that in the future, if I find myself in a situation where I am tempted to shoot off at the mouth, that I will entrust myself to God who judges justly.

Let us learn about Jesus and strive daily to be more like him. There is so much to learn. But, don’t stop at knowledge; apply it. If you have dry skin that itches, put some cream on it. Just because you have cream sitting on your counter, and you know what it can do for you, doesn’t mean that you are getting the relief that you need unless you apply it.

Knowing the principles of God will not put you on the path to walking in His blessings; applying His principles to your life puts you on that path. I encourage you to walk in His blessings. Nothing worth doing is easy, but it is always worth it. God bless you.

By His Grace,

Momma Birdy

 

Leave a Reply

